Everything I’ve Learned About Chalkboard Paint

For some odd reason, the Lowes near my house does not carry chalkboard spray paint so I settled for the kind in a paint can and bought a foam brush for application.

I had some things to learn before I was able to get it right, so I’m sharing my newfound knowledge.

Materials:

Items to paint, I used a serving dish & a dip bowl

Sandpaper

Painter’s tape

Small foam roller (NOT a foam brush)

Disposable plate

Step 1

Once you have chosen the items you would like to paint, tape off the area you want to be painted. If you have a bunch of stuff, I suggest you tape everything off and have it ready to go all at once.

Step 2

Pour a small amount of well-mixed paint onto a disposable plate and roll out evenly using a small foam paint roller. Roll one coat of paint inside the taped area.

Step 3

Remove tape while paint is still wet or it will peal at the edges. Allow to dry.

Step 4

Repeat Steps 2 & 3 until you are content with the finished product.

(I made these as a wedding gift and purchased these adorable spreaders from SissyPretties on Etsy)

Touch up

If you splatter paint outside the lines or the paint bleeds through, gently dab the areas with a q-tip and rubbing alcohol.

Foam Brush Results

I found that if trying to create an elegant piece, a limited knowledge of chalkboard paint would ruin it. I expected the paint to blend into itself (dimensionally speaking)… but it dried exactly like it was applied.

Leave a Reply

